反托拉斯指南

世界钢铁协会是一个享有较高公众关注度的国际性行业协会,其会员在全球碳钢产量和不锈钢产量中占据绝大比重。作为世界钢铁协会的一项政策,其活动以最严格的、最发达的反托拉斯原则为标准,尤其是美国和欧盟的反托拉斯原则。世界钢铁协会认为,除美国和欧盟外,其他多个司法辖区的反托拉斯执法也日趋严格。

本反托拉斯指引旨在确保世界钢铁协会及其员工和会员,不致在任何相关司法辖区引发反托拉斯问题。此外,各反托拉斯机构也已承认,强有力的反托拉斯政策与合规指引,可以作为是否进行反托拉斯调查的判断因素。因此,世界钢铁协会的会员及员工有义务熟悉和遵守本反托拉斯指引。

为保证反托拉斯指引得到遵守,负责反托拉斯的法务顾问将参加国际钢铁协会及其关联组织——国际不锈钢论坛——举行的执行委员会会议、理事会会议和会员大会。当敏感的反托拉斯问题可能出现时,法务顾问还将参加本委员会的会议。当法务顾问不能参加世界钢铁协会的会议时,由本协会员工负责反托拉斯合规事务。对于员工和会员提出的任何问题或担忧,法务顾问将作出解答。如果没有世界钢铁协会的员工或法务顾问在场,不得举行世界钢铁协会集会或会议。

为什么反托拉斯合规如此重要?

反托拉斯法关注的是实质影响竞争的独占和联合行动(“共谋”)。重要的是,一般认为,行业协会的活动构成联合行动,并且如果会员之间在某种程度上存在竞争,则行业协会的行动构成竞争对手之间的联合行动。因此,作为一个以全球主要钢铁公司为会员的行业组织,世界钢铁协会必须对反托拉斯问题尤其注意。由于世界钢铁协会的活动被评定为联合行动,因此个体会员或独立咨询机构可以实施的行为,对于作为行业协会的世界钢铁协会而言,可能是不被许可的行为,或者属于不明智之举。这一点是联合行动和单边行为在反托拉斯法上的重要区分。

作为基本原则,任何前述理由都不应阻止世界钢铁协会或国际不锈钢论坛吸收会员,或阻止会员参加行业协会的活动。法院(包括美国最高法院)和反托拉斯执法机关均已承认,合法的行业协会活动能够推动竞争和提高效率。此外,还可带来行业和公共利益,例如,保证安全和保护环境。此外,行业协会的活动还可提高市场的质量和知情程度,并且还使得个体会员能够决定对他们自己、整个行业乃至公众而言,哪些活动具有商业意义。总之,行业协会能够促进各种想法和关键市场信息的交流,这一点是个体会员无法独立完成的。

世界钢铁协会成为世界钢铁行业的代言人

世界钢铁协会的主要任务之一,是向会员、政府和公众通报钢铁行业的国际发展和统计数据。行业协会通常都会发布行业公报或新闻通讯。重要的是,当面临重大行业问题时,行业协会可以担任其所在行业的“代言人”,提交立场文件和事实声明,以及代表其所在行业,向政府机关、反托拉斯机构以及相关公众提出请愿或进行游说。例如,世界钢铁协会已代表世界钢铁行业,向政府组织提出环境问题、不合理补贴问题和产能比重失衡问题,并且作为钢铁行业的代言人,反对无正当理由的供应商整合。这种统一行动已得到认可,被认为是国际性行业协会的基本任务之一,与反托拉斯法并不冲突。

单边决定与联合行动

如前所述,世界钢铁协会的活动在法律上被认定为竞争对手之间的联合行动。从法律上讲,这种联合行动非常不同于个体会员在世界钢铁协会提供的合法信息的基础上做出的单边决定。在竞争敏感议题上,世界钢铁协会不向会员提供任何“推荐”、“建议”或“变相推断”,而是向会员教导涉及国际钢铁行业的事实和统计数据。个体会员在该信息的基础上,或者在其认为适当的其他信息来源的基础上,自行做出单边决定。在任何竞争敏感问题上,除非法务顾问阐明,否则世界钢铁协会及其会员不同意采取行业性质的联合行动。

表象与现实

行业协会、会员甚至个人,有时会因为某些表面上的“共谋”行为,而不是因为可能的事实情况,而遭到制裁。如果行业协会会议上做出的声明、说明或文件失策,则可能因此被依照法律,做出共谋推断。典型的例子是:“我不管别人做什么,反正下周我要提高价格。”一旦竞争对手随后也发生提价,则这种声明将被认定为共谋行为。此外,该声明也可被视为“共谋邀请”。

因此,在行业协会会议上的评论、说明或者发出的电子邮件,无论出发点如何合理,都有可能被误解或不当使用。作为经验之谈,对于在行业协会会议或相关社交活动上做出的任何评论或说明,应当从一名不愿相信别人,并且不愿做出无罪推定的政府调查员的角度来看待,或者,除非在做出该评论或说明时依法宣誓。

火可以取暖,也可以毁灭

在讨论违反反托拉斯指引的潜在行为之前,有一条重要提示:即使是合法的行业协会信息和活动,也可能发生不当使用。即使是最好的行业协会行为和最好的意愿,也可能因此毁灭殆尽。因此,世界钢铁协会及法务顾问必须承认,即使是合法的行业协会行为,也可能被视为违反反托拉斯法规定的、反竞争的附属活动的“变相”或“前沿”。例如,根据法务顾问制定的具体指引,世界钢铁协会可能作出行业预测。这种预测通常是全球性的,或者涵盖多个地区,发生不当使用的可能性微乎其微。尽管如此,反托拉斯机关却警告说,行业预测可能被不当使用,被用以实施或监控企业联合。因此,作为世界钢铁协会反托拉斯政策的基础,应当规定不得使用合法活动掩盖或实施反竞争行为。

世界钢铁协会与法务顾问密切合作,为行业预测建立防范措施。任何行业预测必须符合防范措施。世界钢铁协会的防范措施包括:使用第三方或本协会员工制定行业预测;限制数据的使用权限;对数据提供者保密;将数据进行“均匀化”(集合)处理,确保不披露提供者的身份和信息;利用公共可用信息,例如地区性钢铁行业协会和行业咨询服务公司编制的信息。

反托拉斯——敏感区域

理论上,即使是中性的行为,也可被用于实施共谋行为和行业限制。尽管如此,行业协会面临的主要反托拉斯敏感区域是“本身”(无抗辩或合理理由)违反反托拉斯法的行为。这些敏感区域必须完全避免,否则在美国可能受到民事或刑事法律的制裁,甚至引起竞争对手和消费者的法律诉讼,包括集体诉讼。无论行为人规模的大小,这类行为都被视为本身非法,并且可能实际带来反竞争后果。美国法院认定,嫌疑行为不必非得在美国本土发生。对于不属于本身违反反托拉斯法的行为,则根据“合理性”标准进行判断,这种判断通常需要对该行为在相关市场上造成的反竞争效果和促进竞争效益之间进行复杂平衡。

基本的违反反托拉斯法行为是达成协议,直接或间接地固定或歪曲:(a) 对客户的价格,或任何价格组成部分(如:折扣或付款条件);(b) 产能; (c) 产量或产出;(d) 地理市场或产品市场;以及 (e) 某些或某类客户。美国有一套完整的、超过 100 年历史的案例法体系,对上述原则进行解释。作为预防措施,世界钢铁协会遵循以下规则:(1) 在世界钢铁协会的正式活动上,会员不得讨论当前或未来的钢铁价格;以及 (2) 任何对当前或未来产能或产量的讨论,必须经过法务顾问的监督和批准。以上原则不仅适用于世界钢铁协会会议,而且适用于社交活动。

供应商和客户关系

反托拉斯法还适用于钢铁企业的以下交易:(i) 钢铁企业与原料供应商之间的交易;(ii) 钢铁企业与钢铁客户之间的交易。在这一领域,反托拉斯考量有所差异,并且不够明确。钢铁企业与其供应商及客户的商业利益可能存在较大差别。并且,可能对某些供应商享有股本权益,或签署有供货协议(“垂直关系”)。这些企业必须就这种垂直关系,咨询各自的法务顾问。

有部分法律要点相对明确。首先,迄今为止,一直认为,买卖双方之间的议价能力不具有法律相关性。不过,随着时间的推移,这种情况可能发生变化:反托拉斯学者和经济学家已经开始质疑这一前提条件。

其次,客户针对供应商实施的联合行为,如:设定支付价格、付款条件,或者抵制供应商,具有重大嫌疑。(供应商设定的交易条款可能属于合法的行业议题,但必须接受法务顾问的监督)。

再次,根据言论自由原则和向政府请愿原则,反托拉斯法有重大免责规定。这种免责规定允许竞争者讨论对其有影响的有嫌疑的非法活动,以及应采取何种救济措施。这种免责规定的适用很复杂,需要法务顾问的指导。

重要的是,会员不得约定将增加的原料成本或其他成本“转嫁”给客户。各会员必须单边决定处理其客户关系的适当方法。

政府请愿

世界钢铁协会是国际公认的钢铁行业共同问题的重要代表。向国际论坛、法院或政府机关等政府组织提交请愿,是反托拉斯法的一个重要免责领域。这种免责规定允许行业协会向政府机构呈报行业立场,以及在重要的行业问题上寻求协助或矫正。因此,在不合理的产能扩张和钢铁厂补贴等问题上,世界钢铁协会参加了世界贸易组织、20 国集团及其他政府间组织。如果要援引反托拉斯法的豁免条款,则需接受法务顾问的严格监督。

世界钢铁协会的会员

本反托拉斯指引中的任何内容均不为阻止会员积极参与世界钢铁协会的活动。恰恰相反,世界钢铁协会所以采用反托拉斯指引以及其他防范措施,目的是确保会员在参加世界钢铁协会会议,以及参与领导层和本委员会的工作时,感到安慰和舒适。此外,世界钢铁协会认为,本协会的会议经常成为个体会员和参加者相互之间进行合法商业活动的平台。对于与世界钢铁协会活动相关的善意的商业交易,本反托拉斯指引中的内容并非禁止会员实施该类商业交易。

最后,如果会员有任何反托拉斯问题,我们鼓励会员随时咨询世界钢铁协会总干事或法务顾问。不存在任何“愚蠢”问题之说。


埃德温.巴松                                                               
 总干事                                                                         
世界钢铁协会                                                                
 
2012 年 5 月

Antitrust guidelines

The World Steel Association (worldsteel) is an international trade association with high public visibility. The members of worldsteel represent most of the globe’s international carbon and stainless steel output. It is the policy of worldsteel to govern its activities by the standards of the strictest and most developed antitrust principles, principally those of the United States and the European Union. worldsteel also acknowledges that multiple jurisdictions in addition to the US and EU have become increasingly vigorous with respect to antitrust enforcement.

The purpose of these guides is to ensure that the conduct of worldsteel, its staff and its members, does not raise antitrust issues in any relevant jurisdiction. Also, various antitrust authorities have recognised that a strong antitrust policy and compliance guidelines can serve as factors in determining whether to pursue investigations. Thus it is the obligation of each member and of worldsteel staff to be familiar with these guides and to abide by them.

To assure compliance with these guides, antitrust Legal Counsel for worldsteel attends Executive, Board and General Membership meetings of both worldsteel and its affiliate, the International Stainless Steel Forum (ISSF). Its Legal Counsel also attends Committee meetings when sensitive antitrust issues may be raised. worldsteel staff members are responsible for antitrust compliance at worldsteel meetings that Legal Counsel does not personally attend. Legal Counsel is available to staff and each member to respond to any questions or concerns. No worldsteel meetings or conferences are permitted without the presence of worldsteel staff or Legal Counsel.

Why is antitrust compliance so important?

Antitrust law is concerned with monopolisation and concerted activity ('conspiracies') that substantially affect competition. Importantly, trade association activities are presumed to constitute concerted conduct and, where members are in competition to any degree, concerted conduct among competitors. Thus worldsteel, with a membership of the leading steel companies in the world, must be particularly antitrust sensitive. Because the activities of worldsteel are evaluated as being concerted, conduct that is permissible for individual members or independent consultants may not be permissible or advisable for worldsteel as a trade association. This is the important antitrust legal distinction between concerted activity and unilateral conduct.

It is fundamental that none of the foregoing should deter membership in worldsteel or ISSF, or discourage members from participation in trade association activities. The courts (including the US Supreme Court) and antitrust enforcement authorities have recognised that legitimate trade association activities can promote competition and efficiency. Furthermore, they can provide industry and public benefits, such as ensuring safety and protecting the environment. In addition, trade association activities can create a better and more informed marketplace, permitting individual members to determine what makes business sense for themselves, the industry and the public at large. In sum, trade associations can promote the exchange of ideas and vital market information that individual members could not accomplish on their own.

The World Steel Association as a voice for the international steel industry

One of the prime missions of worldsteel is to inform its members, governments and the public about international developments and statistics relating to the steel industry. Trade associations routinely issue industry-relevant bulletins or newsletters. Importantly, given a significant industry issue, trade associations can serve as the 'voice' of their industries by presenting position papers and testimony, and by petitioning and lobbying on their industries’ behalf before governmental bodies, antitrust agencies, and the public. For example, worldsteel has represented the international steel industry on environmental and irrational subsidies and over-weight capacity issues before governmental organisations, and has been the advocate for the industry in opposing unwarranted supplier consolidation. This type of unified activity is recognised as a fundamental mission of an international trade association, and is consistent with the antitrust laws.

Unilateral decision-making versus concerted conduct

As noted, worldsteel activities are legally presumed to constitute joint conduct among competitors. Such conduct is very different in legal terms from unilateral decisions made by individual members based on legitimate information provided by worldsteel. worldsteel does not make “recommendations” or “suggestions” or “disguised inferences” to its members on competitively sensitive topics. Rather, it serves to educate its members and others on facts and statistics relating to the international steel industry. Individual members make their own unilateral business decisions based on this information, or information from other sources they deem appropriate. Except as cleared by Legal Counsel, worldsteel and its members do not agree to take joint industry action on any competitively sensitive issue.

Appearances versus reality

Trade associations and their members, and even individuals, have at times been prosecuted more for what appears to be a 'conspiracy', rather than what the actual facts may be. Conspiracies can be legally inferred from ill-advised statements, notes or documents made at trade association meetings. The following statement is a classic example: "I don't care what others may do. I am raising prices next week." These types of statements have been found to constitute conspiratorial conduct where similar price rises by competitors have followed. Such statements can also be viewed as invitations to collude.

Thus, comments at trade association meetings, or notes made or e-mails sent, however well-intentioned, can be misinterpreted or misused. A good rule of thumb is to view any comments or notes made at trade association meetings, or discussions at attendant social activities, from the standpoint of a sceptical government investigator unwilling to give the benefit of the doubt, or if you were under oath at a deposition.

A fire can warm a house - it also can burn down a theatre

Before addressing potential guideline violations, an important caveat is the misuse of legitimate trade association information and functions. Even the best of trade association conduct and intentions can be subverted. Thus, worldsteel and its Legal Counsel must recognise that legal trade association activities may be viewed as a “disguise” or "front" for anticompetitive ancillary activities not consistent with the antitrust laws. For example, subject to specific guidelines established by Legal Counsel, worldsteel may make industry forecasts. Such forecasts are generally global or multi-regional, and have little prospect for competitive abuse. However, antitrust authorities have cautioned that industry forecasts can be misused to implement or monitor cartel behaviour. Thus, it is fundamental to worldsteel antitrust policy that otherwise legal activities can never be used to mask or implement anticompetitive conduct.

worldsteel has worked closely with Legal Counsel to create legal safeguards to any worldsteel forecasts. No forecasts are permitted unless in accordance with these safeguards. worldsteel’s safeguards include: the use of a third party or worldsteel staff in creating such forecasts; limiting access to data; preserving the confidentiality of submitters; "homogenising" (aggregating) data such that the identity and information of submitters is not disclosed; and utilisation of publicly available information, such as that compiled by regional steel trade associations and industry consultant services.

Antitrust – sensitive areas

Theoretically many forms of otherwise neutral conduct could be used to implement a conspiracy to restrain trade. However, the major antitrust-sensitive area for trade associations is per se (no defence or justification) violations of the antitrust laws. These areas must be totally avoided and are subject to civil and criminal prosecution in the US, as well as competitor and consumer lawsuits, including class actions. Such conduct is deemed illegal in itself, and applies whether the perpetrants are large or small or, indeed, could realistically bring about the anticompetitive results. US courts have held that the suspect conduct need not take place on US soil. If conduct does not fall in the per se categories, it is judged under a standard of “reasonableness”, which generally requires a complex balancing of anticompetitive effects against pro-competitive benefits in a relevant market.

These basic violations are agreements that, directly or indirectly, fix or artificially distort: (a) prices charged to customers, or any component of price (e.g., discounts or payment terms); (b) capacity; (c) production or output; (d) geographical or product markets; and (e) customers or classes of customers. In the US there is an entire body of legal case law spanning over 100 years interpreting these principles. As a precaution, worldsteel follows these rules: (1) current or future steel prices are not discussed by members at worldsteel functions; and (2) any discussions of present or future capacity or production must be monitored or approved by Legal Counsel. These principles apply both at worldsteel meetings and social events.

Supplier and customer relations

The antitrust laws also apply to dealings between steel companies and (i) suppliers of raw materials, and (ii) their steel customers. The antitrust considerations here are different and less clear. Business interests of steel companies and their suppliers and customers may well differ. Moreover, members may have equity interests or supply agreements ("vertical relationships") with certain suppliers. These companies must consult their individual legal counsel concerning such relationships.

Some legal observations are relatively clear. First, to date, the difference in bargaining power between suppliers and buyers has been deemed legally irrelevant. Given time, this may change: antitrust scholars and economists have questioned this premise.

Second, concerted conduct by customers against suppliers, such as prices paid, terms of payment, or boycotting suppliers, is highly suspect. (Supplier-imposed terms of dealing may be legitimate industry topics, but must be monitored by Legal Counsel).

Third, there is a significant exemption from the antitrust laws based on free speech and government-petitioning principles. This exemption permits competitors to address suspected illegal activities affecting them, and what remedies to pursue. The application of this exemption is complex, and subject to guidance by Legal Counsel.

Importantly, members can never agree to 'pass on' increased raw material or other costs to customers. Each Member must unilaterally decide what is appropriate in dealing with their customers.

Petitioning governments

worldsteel is globally recognised as a vital representative for presenting common steel industry issues. Petitioning governmental bodies, such as international forums, courts, or government agencies, is an important exemption from the antitrust laws. This exemption permits trade associations to approach and present industry positions to inform governments, and seek aid or redress on important industry issues. Thus worldsteel has participated with the WTO, G20 and other governmental groups on such issues as irrational capacity expansion and steel mill subsidies. Invoking an antitrust exception is subject to strict supervision by Legal Counsel.

Your membership in the World Steel Association

Nothing in these guides should in anyway discourage members from actively participating in worldsteel activities. Quite the contrary. Worldsteel has adopted these guides and other safeguards to assure that members can feel comfortable in attending worldsteel meetings and participating in leadership and committee work. Further, worldsteel recognises that worldsteel meetings frequently serve as an occasion for individual members and attendees to conduct legitimate business with each other. Nothing in these guides prohibits members from engaging in bona fide commercial transactions attendant to worldsteel functions.

Finally, members are free and encouraged to consult with the Director General or worldsteel Legal Counsel as to any question relating to antitrust. There are no 'foolish' questions.

Edwin Basson
Director General
World Steel Association

May 2012