The work of worldsteel is overseen by its members through the Board of Directors. The Board is composed of the chairmen or CEOs of member companies and meets twice a year.

Voting rights of regular members at the Board Meeting and the Annual General Meeting are calculated based on tonnage production. Associate and affiliated members have one vote at the Annual General Meeting.

The Board is supported by an Executive Committee composed of 16 members. All worldsteel officers including the Chairman are appointed by the Board.

Day to day operations of the association are administered by a director general, who is appointed by the Board.

2017-2018 Office Bearers

The following office bearers were elected for a one-year term in October 2017.



Kosei Shindo, Representative Director and President, Nippon Steel & Sumitomo Metal Corporation


Vice Chairman

Vice Chairman

John Ferriola, Chairman, CEO, and President, Nucor Corporation

Vice Chairman

Vice Chairman

Ohjoon Kwon, CEO, POSCO



Sajjan Jindal, Chairman and Managing Director, JSW Steel Limited

Executive Committee 2017/2018

Wolfgang EDER, voestalpine AG

John FERRIOLA, Nucor Corporation

Heinrich HIESINGER, thyssenkrupp AG

Sajjan JINDAL, JSW Steel Limited

André JOHANNPETER, Gerdau S.A.

Koji KAKIGI, JFE Steel Corporation


MA Guoqiang, China Baowu Steel Group Corporation Limited

Lakshmi MITTAL, ArcelorMittal

Alexey MORDASHOV, Severstal (PAO)

Thachat Viswanath NARENDRAN, Tata Steel Limited

Roger NEWPORT, AK Steel Corporation

Paolo ROCCA, Techint Group

Kosei SHINDO, Nippon Steel & Sumitomo Metal Corporation

YU Yong, HBIS Group Co., Ltd.

Edwin BASSON, World Steel Association