The work of the World Steel Association (worldsteel) is overseen by its members through the Board of Directors. The Board is composed of the chairmen or chief executive officer of worldsteel member companies and meets twice a year.

Voting rights of regular members at the Board Meeting and the Annual General Meeting are calculated based on tonnage production. Associate and affiliated members have one vote at the Annual General Meeting.

The Board is supported by an Executive Committee (see list below). All worldsteel officers, including the Chairman are appointed by the Board.

Day to day operations of the association are administered by a director general, who is appointed by the Board. worldsteel's current director general is Edwin Basson.


2018-2019 Office Bearers


worldsteel Chairman

worldsteel Chairman

André JOHANNPETER, Executive Vice Chairman, Gerdau 



worldsteel Vice Chairman

worldsteel Vice Chairman

YU Yong, Chairman, HBIS Group

worldsteel Vice Chairman

worldsteel Vice Chairman

Kosei SHINDO, President, Representative Director, Nippon Steel Corporation


worldsteel Treasurer

worldsteel Treasurer

Sajjan JINDAL, Chairman and Managing Director, JSW Steel 


Wolfgang EDER, voestalpine AG

John FERRIOLA, Nucor Corporation

Koji KAKIGI, JFE Steel Corporation

Lakshmi MITTAL, ArcelorMittal

Alexey MORDASHOV, Severstal (PAO)

Thachat Viswanath NARENDRAN, Tata Steel Limited

Roger NEWPORT, AK Steel Corporation

Paolo ROCCA, Techint Group

Edwin BASSON, World Steel Association


De facto April 2019:

CHEN Derong, China Baowu Steel Group Corporation Limited Steel