The 5th Steelie Awards nominations announced

26 September 2014 Brussels

The World Steel Association (worldsteel) has announced the nominees for its 5th Steelie Awards. The winners will be revealed at the annual dinner of the 48th worldsteel conference in Moscow on 6 October. The trophies, known as Steelies, are awarded in seven categories this year.

The categories and nominations are:

1. Steel industry website of the year

  • ArcelorMittal (
  • China Steel Corporation (
  • Essar Steel (
  • Severstal (
  • voestalpine (

2. Innovation of the year

  • ArcelorMittal Dofasco for spreader beam use
  • POSCO for LNG tank design
  • China Steel Corporation for radio frequency tagging of product inventory
  • Ruukki for effective pellet use

3. Excellence in sustainability

  • ArcelorMittal Sonasid for responsible ship dismantling in Morocco for steel recycling
  • JSW Steel for promoting vocational education through local training centres
  • Gerdau for improving the sustainability of their scrap supply chain

4. Excellence in Life Cycle Assessment

  • ArcelorMittal for their contribution to LCA development through the organisation of the annual Society and Materials conference.
  • Deacero for eco-efficiency assessment of three steel production plants and LCA of three products
  • Tata Steel Europe for the use of LCA to demonstrate the benefits of steel in bridge designs versus alternative materials
  • JSW Steel for creating a sustainable building with the use of materials that are recyclable and sourced from low carbon footprint resources

5. Excellence in education and training

  • Baosteel for its leadership development programme
  • Tata Steel Europe for its skills profiler for developing personnel capabilities
  • Tenaris for development of online learning courses with The University of Sheffield and edX

6. Journalist of the year

  • Thomas Biesheuvel (Bloomberg)
  • Vera Blei (SteelFirst)
  • Joseph Innace (Platts)
  • Wenyan Lu (China Metallurgical News)
  • John Miller (Wall Street Journal)
  • Tanya Powley (Financial Times)

7. Industry communicator of the year

  • Wolfgang Eder (voestalpine)
  • John Ferriola (Nucor)
  • Lakshmi Mittal (ArcelorMittal)
  • Alexey Mordashov (Severstal)
  • Wang Xiao Qi (China Iron and Steel Association)
  • Lejiang Xu (Baosteel)

The selection process for nominations varies between awards. In most cases nominations are requested via the appropriate membership committee and the worldsteel extranet. Entries are then judged by selected expert panels using agreed performance criteria. Journalist of the year and communicator of the year are selected by direct vote.

# Ends #

Notes to Editors:

  • The World Steel Association (worldsteel) is one of the largest and most dynamic industry associations in the world. worldsteel represents approximately 170 steel producers (including 9 of the world's 10 largest steel companies), national and regional steel industry associations, and steel research institutes. worldsteel members represent around 85% of world steel production.

Media enquiries

Nicholas Walters
T: +32 2 708 8184
M: +44 7900 824 444
Soo Jung Kim
T: +32 2 702 8927
M: +32 475 493 779



Go back