World Steel Association elects new officers and welcomes new members

08 October 2014 Moscow, worldsteel-48

The Board of Directors of the World Steel Association (worldsteel) has elected the following new officers for 2014/2015 at worldsteel’s 48th Annual Conference in Moscow, Russia. The new Chairman takes office from today, Wednesday 8th October, 2014. The new officers are elected for one year, until October 2015.

Wolfgang Eder, Chairman and CEO, voestalpine AG

Vice Chairmen: 
Alexey Mordashov, CEO, Severstal JSC
André Gerdau Johannpeter, President & CEO, Gerdau SA

Eiji Hayashida, President and CEO, JFE Steel Corporation

On behalf of the Board of Directors, Director General of the World Steel Association, Edwin Basson said; “We thank Joon-Yang Chung, Chairman for 2013/2014 for his leadership and proactive involvement over the past year. We welcome Wolfgang Eder as the new Chairman, Alexey Mordashov and André Gerdau Johannpeter as Vice Chairmen, and Eiji Hayashida as Treasurer. We are also delighted to welcome our new members on board.”

The Board of Directors also elected the 2014/15 Executive Committee:

Wolfgang Eder, voestalpine AG
John Ferriola, Nucor Corporation
Eiji Hayashida, JFE Steel Corporation
Heinrich Hiesinger, ThyssenKrupp AG
Sajjan Jindal, JSW Steel Ltd
Oh-joon Kwon, POSCO
André Gerdau Johannpeter, Gerdau S.A.
Mario Longhi, United States Steel Corporation
Lakshmi Mittal, ArcelorMittal
Alexey Mordashov, Severstal JSC
Paolo Rocca, Techint Group
Kosei Shindo, Nippon Steel & Sumitomo Metal Corporation
Lejiang Xu, Baosteel Group Corporation
Xiaogang Zhang, Anshan Iron & Steel Group Corporation
Edwin Basson, World Steel Association

The Board of Directors also welcomed the following companies as new members of worldsteel:

Regular members (steel companies producing more than 2 million short tons (1.8 Mt) per annum)

  • ACERINOX Group, represented by Bernardo Velazquez (Associate to Regular)
  • Hebei Iron and Steel Group, represented by Yong Yu
  • Magang (Group) Holding Co., Ltd. (Maanshan Steel) represented by Haijian Gao
  • Sahaviriya Steel Industries Public Co. Ltd. (SSI) represented by Win Viriyaprapaikit (Associate to Regular)

Associate Members (steel companies producing less than 2 million short tons (1.8 Mt) per annum)

  • Elmarakby for Metallic Industries, represented by Hassan Mohamed Saad
  • SIJ - Slovenska Industrija Jekla, d.d., represented by Anton Chernykh
  • United Metallurgical Company (OMK), represented by Anatoly Sedykh

# Ends #

Notes to Editors:

  • The World Steel Association (worldsteel) is one of the largest and most dynamic industry associations in the world. worldsteel represents approximately 170 steel producers (including 9 of the world's 10 largest steel companies), national and regional steel industry associations, and steel research institutes. worldsteel members represent around 85% of world steel production.
  • Photos are available here.

Media enquiries

Nicholas Walters
T: +32 2 708 8184
M: +44 7900 824 444
Soo Jung Kim
T: +32 2 702 8927
M: +32 475 493 779


Go back