The 6th Steelie Awards nominations announced

29 September 2015 Brussels, Belgium

The World Steel Association (worldsteel) has announced the nominees for its 6th Steelie Awards. The winners will be revealed at the annual dinner of the 49th worldsteel conference in Chicago on 12 October. The trophies, known as Steelies, are awarded in seven categories.

The categories and nominations are:

1. Steel industry website of the year

2. Innovation of the year

  • ArcelorMittal for hot-stamped laser-welded blank door ring
  • Erdemir for a new approach to the risk of premature wear of copper staves in blast furnaces
  • POSCO for lean duplex stainless steel with super ductility using a strip-casting process
  • voestalpine for optimisation of the burden charging & distribution equipment in blast furnaces

3. Excellence in sustainability

  • ArcelorMittal for their 10 sustainable development outcomes
  • China Steel Corporation for the development of an industrial park using by-product fuel gases
  • Tata Steel Europe for the certification of 19 construction products for responsible sourcing

4. Excellence in Life Cycle Assessment

  • ArcelorMittal for the use of sustainable charcoal to replace coke in blast furnaces in Brazil
  • JSW Steel for using slag to reduce greenhouse gas emissions in cement manufacture
  • Tata Steel Europe for the use of LCA to demonstrate the impact of the reuse of steel in a world class circular economy building in Holland
  • ThyssenKrupp Steel Europe for their InCar®plus ‘Solutions for automotive efficiency’ project

5. Excellence in education and training

  • ArcelorMittal for its corporate Learning Week programme
  • Baosteel for training workers using advanced computer-based process simulations
  • Nucor for partnering in development of an online game to enhance business acumen in the steel industry
  • Tata Steel Europe for developing a blended learning course for young people transitioning to management
  • Tenaris for delivering the massive open online course ‘Introduction to Steel’

 6. Journalist of the year

  • Maytaal Angel (Thomson Reuters)
  • Vera Blei (SteelFirst)
  • Sonja Elmquist (Bloomberg)
  • Joseph Innace (Platts)
  • Wenyan Lu (China Metallurgical News)

7. Industry communicator of the year

  • Wolfgang Eder (voestalpine)
  • John Ferriola (Nucor)
  • Sajjan Jindal (JSW)
  • Hans Jürgen Kerkhoff (German Steel Federation)
  • Liu Zhenjiang (China Iron and Steel Association)

The selection process for nominations varies between awards. In most cases nominations are requested via the appropriate membership committee and the worldsteel extranet. Entries are then judged by selected expert panels using agreed performance criteria. Journalist of the year and Industry communicator of the year are selected by direct vote.

More information on the Steelie Awards is available from

# Ends #

Notes to Editors:

  • The World Steel Association (worldsteel) is one of the largest and most dynamic industry associations in the world. worldsteel represents approximately 170 steel producers (including 9 of the world's 10 largest steel companies), national and regional steel industry associations, and steel research institutes. worldsteel members represent around 85% of world steel production.

Media enquiries

Nicholas Walters
T: +32 2 708 8184
M: +44 7900 824 444
Soo Jung Kim
T: +32 2 702 8927
M: +32 475 493 779



Go back