气候变化与钢铁生产

钢铁在生活中无处不在,它是未来社会可持续发展的基石。

无论是未来能源和交通系统的发展,自然灾害的预防措施,适应气候变化的基础设施、建筑和住宅,还是低碳制造业和农业,钢铁都是解决之道的核心要素。

循环经济的发展正不断延长钢材的使用寿命。钢铁可以完美地再制造、再利用和无限循环,是循环经济不可或缺的一环。

钢铁生产的转型

铁是通过去除铁矿石中的氧和其他杂质生产出来的。当铁与碳、回收废钢以及少量其他元素结合时,就变成了钢。一旦生产出来,钢铁就成为一种永久性资源:钢铁可以百分百无限期循环利用,而且不会影响任何材料特性。

钢铁行业属于真正的全球性产业,原材料(例如铁矿石和废钢)和钢铁产品的全球贸易规模庞大。今天,全球70%以上的钢铁生产集中在亚洲。

钢铁行业仍属于一个碳排放和能源消耗密集型行业。尽管如此,钢铁行业正致力于不断降低其生产经营和产品使用的碳足迹。

钢铁行业全力支持《巴黎协定》设定的气候目标。

《巴黎协定》

《巴黎协定》于2015年通过。协定的核心目标是确保与工业化之前水平相比,全球温升幅度显著低于2摄氏度,并且努力将温升幅度限制在1.5摄氏度以内。协定旨在本世界下半叶,实现人类活动的温室气体排放与自然吸收之间的平衡。

然而并没有单一的解决方案可以大幅降低钢铁行业的碳排放推动行业和社会转型的主要要素包括:

减少钢铁行业自身影响

减少钢铁行业自身影响

我们通过减少钢铁生产过程中的碳排放量,承担起钢铁行业肩负的环境责任。我们努力提高工序效率,充分利用废钢。我们不断努力开发和部署突破性低碳排放的钢铁生产技术。

More information

提高效率与循环经济

提高效率与循环经济

我们推动提高产品的再利用、再制造以及循环回收,这些都是实现循环经济的关键要素。


与过去相比,现代钢材强度更高、重量更轻、耐久性更好。从产品设计到产品寿命结束,钢铁行业与客户展开密切地合作,通过分享材料知识,确保钢材在任何特定的应用中都尽可能得到高效利用。通过这种方式,我们在各个阶段都实现了循环经济,并且提高材料效率。

More information

开发先进钢铁产品推动社会转型

开发先进钢铁产品推动社会转型

我们正在开发和生产先进钢铁产品,助力全社会实现转型发展,以及通过零能源建筑、可再生能源基础设施以及电气化等,实现碳中和。我们通过使用钢铁材料和开发新颖的先进钢铁产品,协助客户推出创新型解决方案。
 

虽然每一项要素都将在温室气体减排方面发挥重要作用,但本文件重点关注第一项要素—减少钢铁生产过程中的排放量。

 

承担责任-减少钢铁行业自身影响

  • 2020年,平均每生产1吨钢排放1.851 吨二氧化碳。2020年,全球共生产18.6亿吨钢,钢铁行业的直接碳排放总量约为26亿吨,占全球人类活动碳排放总量的7%至9%。
  • 2020年,国际能源署发布了一份路线图3,旨在探索钢铁生产所需的潜在技术和战略,寻求一条符合国际能源署宏伟愿景的道路,从而提高能源行业的可持续发展能力。

国际能源署钢铁技术路线图

2020年10月,国际能源署发布了钢铁技术路线图。该文件分析了不同减排技术选择所带来的影响和利弊,以及针对本行业制定的、符合《巴黎协定》的政策目标。


在国际能源署的可持续发展情景下。2050年钢铁行业直接排放总量比2019年降低50%以上。按照相同的路径,粗钢生产的排放强度必须降低58%。


国际能源署认为钢铁对现代经济至关重要,但指出,在支撑钢铁需求量预期增长的同时减少排放,这将带来巨大挑战。虽然提高材料使用效率的措施有助于行业的减排,钢铁行业仍需进一步开发和部署一系列突破性技术方案和配套的基础设施,以实现长期、深度减排。


另外,国际能源署还指出,各国政府必须发挥关键性作用,确保本行业的可持续转型。最后,国际能源署呼吁各国政府、钢铁行业、科研机构和非政府组织群体以及其他利益相关方采取行动。

 
There are three components to reducing our impact: step up, maximising scrap use, and developing breakthrough technologies:

 

在实践中,这意味着:

1.“能效升级”项目

1.“能效升级”项目

“能效升级”项目是一项多步骤评估流程,包括原料质量、能源效率、工序收得率以及工艺设备可靠性,可以提高厂区的绩效水平使其达到钢铁行业里优秀绩效厂区的水平。

Click here for more

2.充分利用废钢

2.充分利用废钢

每座钢厂也是一座再循环工厂,所有钢铁生产过程都使用到废钢,电炉和高炉的废钢使用率最高分别可达100%和30%。

在减少行业排放和资源消耗方面,废钢发挥着重要作用。

Click here for more

3.突破性技术

3.突破性技术

实现大幅度温室气体减排,需要采用一种全新的、革命性的生产工艺,目前多个具有发展前景的项目正在世界各地开展。具体可分为三类:碳、氢和电力作为还原剂。

Click here for more

技术组合

低碳炼钢没有单一的解决方案,需要多种技术的组合,可以单独部署,也可以根据当地的情况组合部署。钢铁行业在全球范围内开展了大量研究、开发及部署工作,探索各种解决方案。


无论在任何地方,突破性技术方案的部署均取决于可利用的资源及地方政策的支持。

举例:

  • 在低碳能源丰富的地区,人们可能期望部署水电解和氢还原技术。
  • 在二氧化碳存储技术获取方便的地区,例如,阿联酋、美国或荷兰等地,最佳选择可能是CCS技术或蓝氢还原技术。
  • 在生物质资源获取方便的地区,例如,澳大利亚或巴西等地,可以使用可持续的生物质和生物炭替代现有炼钢工艺中使用的煤炭。
  • 碳捕获和利用技术(CCU)利用可再生能源与富含碳的废气相结合,生成合成燃料以及可用作化工原料的丙酮、异丙醇等化学物质。

什么是低碳钢?

世界钢铁协会对低碳钢的定义为通过利用科学技术和实践经验生产,相比传统生产方式二氧化碳排放量显著降低的钢材。

国际能源署的路线图预计,突破性技术的大范围应用,将在2030至2050年期间加速。不过,从2025年左右开始,我们将看到先驱企业率先尝试和实施一些项目,用于增加市场上低碳钢的供应数量。等到本世纪中叶,从这些创新项目中获得的经验教训将会为全行业范围的推广应用提供支持。

成本影响

每家企业选择投资哪种突破性技术,将在很大程度上取决于可利用的资源和现有的政策支持。然而,即使投资条件再好,毫无疑问的是低碳钢的生产成本将大大高于目前生产的钢材。

生产成本增加的原因包含以下因素:

  • 运营支出增加:需要使用绿氢或低碳电等更加昂贵的低碳资源;CCS设备的运行和存储二氧化碳需要增加额外能源
  • 资本支出增加:需要使用氢基DRI设备替代碳基高炉设备,使用电炉设备替代转炉设备;将现有设备替换成使用氢或其他燃料的设备;需要改造CCS或CCUS基础设施
  • 资本损失:原本可以长期使用的钢铁生产设备可能需要提前退役或销账

国际能源署估计,与目前成本相比,生产成本的上升幅度将在10%至50%之间,成本增幅显著超出生产毛利率。尽管如此,钢铁行业将继续通过提高运营效率和推广智能化制造技术来削减成本,部分抵消新增成本。

钢铁行业的转型是一个长期渐进的过程,部分企业、国家、地区的推进速度大大超前,因此在一段时期内,在同一个市场上,采用低碳技术生产的钢与采用传统技术生产的钢材(以及其他材料)将形成竞争。这将给先驱企业造成不利影响,因此需要政策扶持。

政府与钢铁业之间的合作是未来可持续发展的基础

政府可利用的手段、钢铁行业的特点、以及低碳技术的经济适用性和获取便利性,各个国家和地区之间有所不同。有了《巴黎协定》,我们相信各国完全能够评估和实施符合各国特定情况的政策和技术策略。

尽管如此,为了克服相关技术和经济挑战钢铁行业向低碳炼钢的转型创造必要的市场条件,各 国政府、钢铁业以及其他利益相关需要密切协作。

在实践中,这意味着:

钢铁行业将要:

减少行业自身排放量

  • 在全球行业范围内,加快提高能源效率和碳效率,与合作伙伴和相关行业展开合作并形成合力
  • 通过提高研发能力,开发一系列突破性技术组合
  • 通过技术开发,充分利用所有回收废钢的价值,确保所有已回收的废钢循环再利用为新的钢铁产品

建立伙伴关系,推进转型

  • 与政府部门合作,明确突破性技术的大规模应用所需的低碳资源和融资

保持透明

  • 继续测算和公布钢铁行业的碳排放情况

 

各国政府需要提供扶持性和推进性的框架体系:
  • 政府不应对任何可利用的技术产生偏向,应当对不同技术的使用给予认可
  • 通过提高低碳材料的需求量,以及创建低碳钢市场,减轻先驱企业所面临的不利因素,需要注意的是,目前低碳钢的生产成本比传统钢材高50% 。与此同时,相关政策应该确保企业的主动行为有所回报,不能让投资高效炼钢技术的企业在市场上初于不利地位
  • 方便企业获得过渡融资,比如通过可持续性融资框架
  • 确保低碳资源的可利用性和经济适用性,包括一定数量的CCS基础设施和氢等
  • 采用生命周期评价方法,支持循环经济,包括对产品使用寿命终点阶段的废钢进行收集和清理
  • 采取创新型手段管理低碳工艺和低碳产品,如利用CCU工艺生产的产品

 

利益相关方和钢铁下游用户也能发挥一定作用,他们应当:
  • 形成低碳钢需求,并认识到低碳钢产生的额外成本
  • 考虑产品的全生命周期,产品设计中应考虑适用于再制造、再利用和再循环的产品

Climate change and the production of iron and steel

Steel is everywhere in our lives and fundamental to a sustainable future.

Whether it is future energy and transport systems, protection from the impacts of natural disasters, climate-resilient infrastructure, construction and housing, low-carbon manufacturing and agriculture, steel is at the heart of delivering solutions. 

Increasingly, circular economic approaches are prolonging steel’s useful life. The steel industry is an integral part of the circular economy – with our material ideally suited to be remanufactured, reused and ultimately recycled.

Transforming steel production

Iron is made by removing oxygen and other impurities from iron ore. When iron is combined with carbon, recycled steel and small amounts of other elements it becomes steel. Once made, it is a permanent resource; it is 100% and infinitely recyclable without any loss of properties.

Steelmaking is a truly global industry, and raw materials (such as iron ore and scrap) and steel products are traded globally to a large extent. Today, over 70% of global steel production takes place in Asia.

The production of steel remains a CO2 and energy-intensive activity. However, the steel industry is committed to continuing to reduce the footprint from its operations and the use of its products.

Our industry fully supports the aims of the Paris Agreement.

The Paris Agreement

The Paris Agreement was adopted in 2015. The agreement’s central aim is to limit global temperature rise to well below 2 degrees Celsius above pre-industrial levels and to pursue efforts to limit the temperature increase even further to 1.5 degrees Celsius.

The agreement aims to reach a balance between anthropogenic emissions and removals by sinks in the second half of the century.

There is no single solution to drastically reducing CO2 emissions from our industry, however, the main elements enabling industrial and societal transformation are:

Reducing our own impact

Reducing our own impact

We take responsibility for our impact by reducing our emissions from the production of iron and steel. We strive for efficiency in our processes and maximised use of scrap. We continue our efforts to develop and deploy breakthrough low-carbon steel making technologies.

Efficiency and the circular economy

Efficiency and the circular economy

We drive more reuse, remanufacturing and recycling, all key elements of the circular economy

Modern steels are stronger, lighter and more durable than ever before. The steel industry works intensively with its customers, from design to end-of-life, to share our material knowledge to ensure that steel is used as efficiently as possible in any given application. In this way we enable the circular economy and contribute to material efficiency at every stage.

Developing advanced steel products to enable societal transformations

Developing advanced steel products to enable societal transformations

We are developing and manufacturing the advanced steel products necessary to facilitate the required transformation and adaptation of society to reach carbon neutrality through zero energy buildings, renewable energy infrastructures, electrification and more. We assist our customers in delivering innovative solutions through the use of our material and the introduction of new advanced steel products.

While each of these components will play a strong role, our focus here is on the first element – mitigating our own emissions from the production of iron and steel.

Being responsible - Reducing our own impact

 

  • In 2020, on average, every tonne of steel produced led to the emission of 1.851 tonnes of CO2 into the atmosphere. In 2020, 1,860 million tonnes (Mt) of steel were produced, and total direct emissions from our sector were of the order of 2.6 billion tonnes, representing between 7% and 9%. of global anthropogenic CO2 emissions.
  • In 2020, the International Energy Agency (IEA) released a roadmap that explores potential technologies and strategies necessary for the iron and steel sector to pursue a pathway compatible with the IEA’s broader vision of a more sustainable energy sector.

 

The IEA Iron and Steel Technology Roadmap

In October 2020, the International Energy Agency (IEA) released its Iron and Steel Technology Roadmap. This document analyses the impacts and trade-offs of different technology choices and policy targets for the industry to be in line with the goals of the Paris Agreement.

Under the IEA’s Sustainable Development Scenario, total direct emissions from the iron and steel sector fall by more than 50% by 2050 relative to 2019. On the same pathway, the emissions intensity of crude steel production must fall by 58%.

The IEA states that steel is vital to modern economies and notes that sustaining the projected demand growth in steel while reducing emissions poses immense challenges. While efficiency improvements will help the industry, there is a need to develop further and deploy a broad portfolio of breakthrough technology options and enabling infrastructure to achieve long term, deep reduction in emissions.

Furthermore, the IEA notes the critical role governments must play in ensuring a sustainable transition of the sector, and concludes with a call to action for governments, the steel industry, the research and NGO communities and other stakeholders.

 
There are three components to reducing our impact: step up, maximising scrap use, and developing breakthrough technologies:

 

1. step up

1. step up

step up is a multistep process covering raw materials, energy input, yield and maintenance that can be used to support improvements in mill operations to efficiency levels commensurate with the steel industry’s top performers.

Click here for more

2. Maximising scrap

2. Maximising scrap

Every steel plant is also a recycling plant, and all steel production uses scrap, up to 100% in the electric arc furnace (EAF) and 30% in the blast furnace (BF) route. All scrap that is collected is recycled. 

Scrap plays a key role in suppressing industry emissions and resource consumption.

Click here for more

3. Breakthrough technologies

3. Breakthrough technologies

To achieve the drastic reductions needed, an entirely new, transformative approach to ironmaking is required, and there are several promising approaches to reduce iron ore at an industrial scale without the release of CO2. These fall into three broad categories: carbon, hydrogen and electricity.

Click here for more

A portfolio of technology options

There is no single solution to low-carbon steelmaking, and a broad portfolio of technological options will be required to be deployed alone or in combination as local circumstances permit. Our industry is leading many research, development and deployment (RD&D) efforts globally to develop each of these options.

In any given location, the choice of which breakthrough solution to deploy will be determined by the availability of resources and local policy support.

For example:

  • In areas rich in low-carbon energy, one might expect to see the deployment of water electrolysis and hydrogen reduction.
  • In areas with access to CO2 storage, for example the UAE, the USA or the Netherlands, CCS or blue hydrogen reduction may emerge as the most appropriate choice.
  • In areas offering potential access to biomass resources, such as Australia or Brazil, sustainable biomass and biochar may be used to substitute coal in existing steelmaking processes.
  • Carbon capture and utilisation (CCU) can combine carbon-rich waste gases with renewable energy to create synthetic fuels and chemicals such as acetone and isopropanol that can be used as feedstock by the chemicals sector.

What is low-carbon steel?

worldsteel defines low-carbon steel as steel that is manufactured using technologies and practices that result in the emission of significantly lower CO2 emissions than conventional production.

The IEA roadmap projects that the broad deployment of breakthrough technology will accelerate between 2030 and 2050. However, we can expect to see first movers trial and implement first of a kind plants providing increased quantities of low-carbon steel to the market from the mid-2020s. Learnings from these innovations will support broader deployment across the wider industry by mid-century.

 

Cost implications

Each company’s choice of which breakthrough technology to invest in will to a large degree depend on the resources available and the policies in place. However, even if the conditions are good, it is clear that the production of low-carbon steel is going to be more expensive than steel production today.

The higher production cost will result from a combination of the following:

  • increased operational expenses, due to, for example: use of more expensive low carbon resources such as green hydrogen or low-carbon electricity; CCS equipment requiring additional energy to operate and for CO2 storage
  • increased capital expenses due to, for example: replacement of coal-based blast furnace units with hydrogen-based DRI units and basic oxygen furnaces with electric arc furnace units, the conversion of existing equipment to use hydrogen or other fuels; the retrofitting of CCS or CCUS infrastructure
  • capital losses due to, for example: the potential early retirement or write-off of long-lived steelmaking assets

The IEA estimates the additional production cost to be between 10% and 50% compared to today, a cost increase significantly exceeding production margins. However, the steel industry will continue to reduce costs by improving its operational efficiency and deploying intelligent manufacturing technologies, partly offsetting the additional cost.

Since the transformation of the industry will be gradual, with some companies/countries/regions moving faster than others, steel produced using low-carbon technologies will be competing with conventionally produced steel (and other conventionally produced materials) in the same market for some time. This will create a first mover disadvantage and policy support will therefore be needed.

 

Partnerships between governments and the steel industry are fundamental to a sustainable future

The tools available to governments, the steel industry profile, and anticipated access to affordable and low-carbon technologies differ by region and by country. As with the Paris Agreement, we believe that individual countries are best placed to assess and implement policy and technical strategies to suit their particular circumstances.

Nevertheless, it is absolutely clear that governments, the steel industry and other stakeholders will all need to collaborate closely to overcome the technological and economic challenges and create the market conditions necessary for the steel industry to transition to low-carbon steelmaking effectively.

In practice this means that:

The steel industry will:

Mitigate our own emissions

  • Accelerate efforts to improve energy and CO2 efficiency across the global industry and work with partners and neighbours to create synergies
  • Develop a portfolio of breakthrough technologies through increased research and development
  • Ensure that all scrap that is collected is recycled into new steel products by developing technologies that maximise the value of all collected scrap

Create partnerships to enable transformation

  • Engage with governments to make clear what will be needed in terms of low-carbon resources and finance to deploy these breakthrough technologies at scale

Be transparent 

  •     Continue to measure and report on our CO2 emissions 
 
Governments need to put a supportive and enabling framework in place that:
  • Does not pick winners and losers among possible technologies but recognises that a number of different technologies will be used
  • Reduces the first mover disadvantage by increasing the demand for low-carbon materials and creating a market for low-carbon steel, keeping in mind that producing low-carbon steel will be up to 50% more costly than conventionally produced steel today. At the same time, ensuring that policies reward proactive efforts and do not create an economic disadvantage for companies who have already invested in efficient steelmaking
  • Enables access to finance for the transition, through, for example, frameworks for sustainable finance.
  • Ensures availability and affordability of low-carbon resources, including CCS infrastructure and hydrogen, in quantities necessary
  • Takes a life cycle approach and supports the circular economy, including the collection and sorting of end-of-life scrap
  • Takes an innovative approach to the regulation of low-carbon processes and products, such as the products from CCU processes

 

Stakeholders and users of steel also have a role to play and should:
  • Demand low-carbon steel and understand that this will come at an additional cost
  • Consider the entire life cycle and design steel containing products suitable for remanufacturing, reuse and recycling