安全与职业健康

确保钢铁业从业人员的安全和职业健康是我们行业工作的重中之重

保护钢铁行业及配套服务行业从业人员的安全与职业健康是世界钢铁协会会员公司日常工作的重中之重。无论从照管义务还是社会责任来讲,都必须确保每位从业人员工作环境的安全与职业健康。

世界钢铁协会向会员公司免费提供最新的安全管理指南、数据、工艺和操作手册,以帮助钢铁行业实现消除安全事故的重大使命,并按照最高的安全和职业健康标准管理工作环境。

从会员公司收集的安全数据表明,过去十年来钢铁行业的误工工伤率保持稳步、显著的下降,每百万工时误工工伤率从2006年4.55下降到2017年的0.84,降幅高达82%。

“误工工伤”是指导致本公司员工、协议工或第三方协议工不能在下一个规定工作日返回工作岗位的任何与工作相关的伤害。误工工伤率是指每百万工时的误工工伤数量。误工工伤率包括工亡。

尽管钢铁行业的安全管理得到了极大提升,但我们的目标是“零”--没有伤害、没有疾病、职业健康的工作场所。

世界钢铁协会的安全职业健康承诺与原则

 “确保钢铁业从业人员的安全和职业健康是我们行业工作的重中之重。

该承诺得到世界钢铁协会理事会的高度认可,并制定如下六大原则。世界钢铁协会发布这六大原则帮助会员公司有效执行这些原则,并对所有安全标准制定准确定义,以确保衡量办法、结果和分析协调一致。

钢铁行业六大安全和职业健康原则:

  1. 一切工伤与职业病是能预防与避免的
  2. 领导必须承担安全职业健康绩效的责任
  3. 员工的参与和培训是必要的
  4. 安全的工作是雇佣条件之一
  5. 卓越的安全和职业健康绩效支持卓越的经营业绩
  6. 安全和职业健康应纳入所有业务管理流程

安全与职业健康项目

世界钢铁协会主张帮助会员公司实现工作场所零事故目标。为达到这一目标,世界钢铁协会的安全和职业健康委员会通过开展一系列活动提供专家指导:

安全与职业健康绩效指标调查

衡量绩效指标是达到良好的安全职业健康标准的一个方面。世界钢铁协会鼓励所有会员公司参与安全绩效数据收集工作,并且尽可能提交准确的信息。该信息不仅关系到事故次数(工亡、误工工伤、医疗事件、急救事件、未遂事故或安全违章事件的次数),而且涉及需要采取的预防类似事故发生的所有措施。这些绩效指标一方面使得企业能够辨识需要改进的领域,另一方面还可从同行分享的知识中极大获益。

安全与职业健康指南

在一些具体问题上,世界钢铁协会可以提供大量的安全和职业健康最佳实践以及指南。这些最佳实践和指南由业界的安全经理从实际工作中总结得出,任何工厂或企业都可采用,防止严重安全事故的发生。

安全与职业健康卓越成就奖

一个良好的实践或想法能够在某一工厂发挥作用的,在另一工厂也可能取得成功,防止人员伤亡和拯救生命。每年,世界钢铁协会安全和职业健康委员会对积极工作和改善钢铁行业安全和职业健康的会员公司进行表彰。2008年以来,有超过30项的最佳实践得以表彰,并在全行业进行分享。另外,还有200项申报的安全项目通过在线与会员公司分享,供其参考及借鉴。

安全工作研讨会

安全工作研讨会有助于会员公司的安全专家面对面进行讨论和交流最佳实践。世界钢铁协会在世界各地举办专项安全工作研讨会,其中尤其包括占世界粗钢产量将近50%的中国。

严重安全事故信息共享

当发生事故时,分析事故原因以及采取预防措施的过程中,将会获得海量知识。世界钢铁协会鼓励会员公司之间进行严重安全事故信息共享,以避免其他地区再次发生类似事故。世界钢铁协会会员公司可通过在线共享严重安全事故信息,以及在安全论坛上交流和解答问题。

车间安全排查

应请求,世界钢铁协会可安排执行钢厂车间安全审查或安全监察活动。无论会员还是非会员公司,都可自行制定安全监察与排查计划。

钢铁行业安全生产日

钢铁行业安全生产日与国际劳工组织的生产安全与职业健康日同期举行。安全生产日在每年4月28日举行, 在安全生产日活动到来之前,世界钢铁协会要求全体会员单位执行特别安全排查工作,排查范围是造成本行业严重安全事故的五大常见原因。这五大原因分别是:运转的机械设备、高空坠落、坠落物体、工艺安全事故和厂区内的交通事故。

领导力--建设安全职业健康工作环境的关键

企业高层做出有力、明确的承诺,以及全体管理层的共同参与,是建设零事故、良好工作场所的核心。

在享有最佳安全记录的钢铁企业中,董事会建立了高级行政人员责任制,负责工作场所全体人员(包括雇员和协议工)的安全和职业健康,各级管理人员积极参与并支持在车间建立安全和职业健康的生产方式。通过统一领导安全和职业健康项目,管理层能够证明承诺、设立坚定的安全标准以及跟踪合规情况。

管理层有责任确保全体雇员和协议工经过安全生产培训,并且掌握相关知识和行为准则。

工作场所安全与职业健康国际标准

多数国家都有职业安全与职业健康立法,我们必须遵守相关法律。许多钢铁公司遵循了有关职业健康和安全管理的国际标准。

最普遍使用的国际职业健康与安全管理体系标准是OHSAS18001。新的国际标准ISO45001职业健康和安全管理体系将于近期公布。严格遵守标准表明企业对不断检查和改善安全与职业健康绩效的决心。职业健康和安全管理体系往往与类似的管理体系合并,例如:环境管理体系(ISO14001)和质量管理体系(ISO9001)。

世界钢铁协会以及多数钢铁公司采用的标准和体系都高于法定最低要求。钢铁公司选择执行业界最高标准的原则。

钢铁行业安全生产日

钢铁行业安全生产日活动于2014年设立,旨在增强钢铁行业对五大严重事故原因的认识,在全球钢铁行业范围内提高工作环境的安全性。通过关注五大原因--运转的机械设备、高空坠落、坠落物体、瓦斯和窒息以及桥式起重机,世界钢铁协会希望建立持续性的改善流程。

钢铁行业安全生产日设在每年4月28日,与国际劳工组织的世界安全生产与职业健康日同期举行。在安全生产日到来之前,世界钢铁协会要求全体会员公司开展安全排查工作。

每年安生生产日重点关注五大事故原因之一,以提升行业对该事故原因的认识以及相关风险的预防。

安全事故的最常见原因和预防措施如下:

  • 运转的机械设备--在接触设备之前,将所有能源隔离、上锁或上插销。
  • 高空坠落--提供定期培训,配备安全带设备,在高空作业时,确保安全装置到位。
  • 坠落物体--定期检查,将风险区域的物体移除或固定。
  • 厂区内的交通事故--确保所有厂区道路、铁路和人行道安全运行,消除所有不必要的交通事故。
  • 工艺安全事故--识别造成爆炸、火灾或瓦斯泄露的工艺安全隐患,并且采取适当控制措施防止事故发生。

SAFETY AND HEALTH

Nothing is more important than the safety and health of the people who work in the steel industry

Protecting the safety and health of everyone who works in or around the steel industry is of vital importance to all our members. The duty of care and social responsibility demands that everyone is able to work in a safe and healthy work environment. 

The World Steel Association (worldsteel) provides up-to-date guidance, data, processes and procedures freely available to members to help the steel industry deliver on its key mission to eliminate accidents and manage working environments with the highest standards of safety and health conditions.

Safety data collected from our membership from 2006 to 2016 show that the steel industry has seen a steady and notable reduction in the Lost Time Injury Frequency Rate (LTIFR) over the past decade. The injury rate per million hours worked has decreased from 4.55 in 2006 to 0.97 in 2017, a reduction of 78.67%.

 

A Lost Time Injury (LTI) is an incident that causes an injury that prevents the person from returning to his next scheduled shift or work   period. Lost Time Injury Frequency Rate (LTIFR) is the number of Lost Time Injuries per million man-hours. LTIFR includes fatalities.

Whilst safety in the steel industry has improved considerably, the ‘zero’ goal - an injury-free and healthy workplace - remains our ultimate target.


worldsteel safety and health commitment and principles

"Nothing is more important than the safety and health of the people who work in the steel industry."

This commitment, strongly endorsed by the Worldsteel Board of Directors, is accompanied by a set of six principles. worldsteel has published practical guidelines to help companies implement the six principles. Accurate definitions for all safety metrics ensure the harmonisation of the measurements, results and analysis.

Six safety and health principles for the industry:

  1. All injuries and work-related illness can and must be prevented.
  2. Management is responsible and accountable for safety and health performance.
  3. Employee engagement and training is essential.
  4. Working safely is a condition of employment.
  5. Excellence in safety and health supports excellent business results.
  6. Safety and health must be integrated in all business-management processes.

 

Safety and health programme

worldsteel's policy is to help its members achieve an accident-free workplace. worldsteel's Safety and Health Committee provides expert guidance to achieve this goal through a series of activities:

Safety and health metrics survey
Measuring performance is one aspect of achieving good safety and health standards. worldsteel encourages all of its member companies to participate in the safety performance data collection and report as accurate information as possible. This information not only concerns the number of incidents that occur (number of fatalities, lost time injuries, medical treatment incidents, first aid incidents, near misses or safety deviations) but also all the actions taken to avoid further similar incidents. The metrics allow organisations to identify areas that need improvement and benefit from the strong support of their peers in the industry to share their knowledge.

Safety and health guidance notes
There are a number of safety and health best practice examples and guidance notes on specific topics available from worldsteel extranet. Provided by industry safety managers and based on actual working practice these can be utilised in any plant or company to prevent serious safety incidents.

Safety and health excellence recognition
A good practice or a good idea that works well in one plant can also be a success in another plant and prevent injuries and save lives. worldsteel's Safety and Health Committee recognises each year member companies that are actively working to improve safety and health within the steel industry. Since 2008, more than 30 examples of best practice have been recognised and made available to the whole industry. An additional 200 submissions are available online on our worldsteel extranet for members to consult and reuse within their own premises.

Safety workshops
The safety workshops allow people to meet face to face to discuss and exchange best practices. worldsteel provides specific safety workshops around the world, particularly in China where almost 50% of steel is produced.

Serious safety occurrences sharing
If an incident occurs, there is an enormous amount of knowledge to be gained from reviewing the causes and actions taken to prevent a re-occurrence. worldsteel promotes the sharing of safety serious occurrences between its members in order to avoid a repeat of similar incidents worldwide. worldsteel members can share safety serious occurrences online via the worldsteel extranet and exchange questions and answers on a safety forum.

Shop floor safety audits
worldsteel performs shop floor safety audits or safety observation activities upon request. This allows members and non-members alike to develop their own observation and audit programmes.

Steel Safety Day
Steel Safety Day is aligned with the International Labour Organisation's (ILO) World Day for Safety and Health at Work. Ahead of the day, scheduled every year on 28 April, worldsteel asks all its members to carry out a special safety audit on the five most common causes of serious safety incidents. These are - moving machinery, falling from heights, falling objects, process safety incidents, and on-site traffic..


Leadership - key to a safe and healthy working environment

A strong and visible commitment from the very top of the company shared by all levels of management is essential to achieve a healthy accident-free workplace.

Steel companies that have the best safety records are those whose chief executives are held accountable by the board of directors for the safety and health of all people working on their sites, employees and contractors alike, and where all levels of management are actively involved and support a safe and healthy approach to work on the shop floor. By leading safety and health initiatives consistently, management is able to demonstrate commitment, set uncompromising safety standards, and follow up on
compliance.

It is the responsibility of management to ensure that all employees and contractors are trained and receive the tools and guidelines to work safely.

International standards for safety and health in the workplace

Most countries have their own legislation on occupational safety and health which must always be respected. Many steelmakers also follow international standards on occupational health and safety management.

The most commonly used international standard on occupational health and safety management systems are OHSAS 18001 and the recently published ISO 45001. Compliance with these standards demonstrates a company’s commitment to continually check and improve its safety and health performance. An occupational health and safety management system is often combined with similar management systems such as Environment Management System (ISO 14001) and Quality Management System (ISO 9001).

The standards and systems applied by worldsteel and most steelmakers exceed the minimum legal requirements. As a rule steelmakers choose to adopt the highest standard available within the industry.

Steel Safety Day

Established in 2014, Steel Safety Day was set up to reinforce awareness of the top five causes of serious incidents and to create a safer working environment across the entire global steel industry. By focusing on the five causes - moving machinery, falling from heights, falling objects, gas & asphyxiation, and overhead cranes - worldsteel intends to set up a continuous improvement process.

Steel Safety Day takes place on 28 April every year and is aligned with the International Labour Organisation’s World Day for Safety and Health at Work. Ahead of the safety day, worldsteel requests all its members to carry out a safety audit.

Each year one of the five causes is highlighted and given more focus to raise awareness of the cause and how to prevent associated risks.

The most common causes of safety incidents and preventative measures have been identified as follows:

  • Moving machinery – Isolate, lock or pin all energy sources before any machinery is accessed.
  • Falling from height – Provide regular training, appropriate harnessing equipment and ensure checks are in place when working at height.
  • Falling objects – Ensure regular checks are in place to remove or secure objects in risk areas.
  • Asphyxiation or gassing – Install sensors to test atmospheric conditions and provide training on evacuation plans in order to reduce risks of dangerous gases.
  • Process safety incidents – Identify potential process safety hazards that could cause explosions or fires and take adequate precautions.