回收利用案例分析

盖尔道集团:提高废钢供应链的可持续发展能力

2007 年,南美钢铁企业盖尔道集团公司与公共部门和非赢利组织一起,启动了“金字塔底层项目”(BOP)。通过该项目,盖尔道公司希望统一巴西、智利、秘鲁和乌拉圭的废钢回收利用项目。一直以来,这些国家的废钢回收企业独立作业,工作条件极为恶劣,且缺少充分的防护设备和社会保障。

在项目上,超过 1,200 家废钢回收企业收到技术和管理能力培训。此外,该项目团队还加强了不同回收利益相关方之间的合作和沟通,推动地方及国家层面的公共政策讨论。

在开展该项目的城市中,现在每年大约有 1,630 吨废品得到正确回收或处理。经济、社会和环境效益不言而喻。在 2011 至 2013 年间,每年废钢回收量增长 228%,废钢回收企业的平均收入增长 155%。

来源:盖尔道集团

报废船舶成为摩洛哥的新产业

摩洛哥的港口目前临时停泊着超过 70 艘废弃船舶,这些船舶不仅阻碍贸易,而且构成环境危害。有如此大量的废钢漂浮在港口,安赛乐米塔尔公司的摩洛哥分公司--索那西德公司开始探索在当地建立船舶拆解产业。

索那西德公司于 2012 年开始试点拆解项目,并且在最初就都把国际社会的环境标准灌输到当地产业。此外,试点项目还让该公司有机会准确估量运营规模。2013 年启动船舶拆解设备筹备工作,目标是在 2015 年之前开始正式运行。索那西德公司将与一家全球性船舶拆解运营企业合作,并且在业务运营中使用回收废钢。

预计该公司利用废钢生产钢材,每生产 1 吨钢材将减少 0.8 吨碳排放。通过限定废钢的运输距离,每年还可节约 3,000 吨二氧化碳。

拆解工艺将确保为走到生命终点的船舶开发环境友好的解决方案。该工艺将降低环境危险物质的风险,例如,原油泄漏,污染海岸和航道等。该项目不仅为摩洛哥带来经济效益,还为当地社区带来广泛的社会效益。

来源:安赛乐米塔尔索那西德分公司

Recycle

Gerdau improves sustainability in the scrap supply chain

South American steelmaker Gerdau began its Base of the Pyramid (BOP) project in 2007 in partnership with public sector and non-profit organisations. Through BOP, Gerdau aimed to formalise scrap recycling activities in Brazil, Chile, Peru, and Uruguay. In these countries, scrap collectors have traditionally worked independently, in poor conditions, and without access to protective equipment or social security.

During the project, over 1,200 scrap collectors received training to develop their technical and management skills. The BOP team also strengthened cooperation and communication between the different recycling stakeholders and contributed to public policy debates at both the local and national levels.

In the cities where BOP was implemented, approximately 1,630 tonnes of waste are now correctly recycled or disposed of each year. The economic, social, and environmental benefits speak for themselves. Between 2011 and 2013, scrap collection grew by 228 percent a year while the average income of the scrap collectors rose by 155 percent.

Source: Gerdau

Abandoned ships lead to new industry in Morocco

Over 70 disused ships are temporarily moored at Moroccan ports, hampering trade and posing an environmental hazard. With such a large stock of unused steel floating in harbours, ArcelorMIttal's Moroccan steelmaker Sonasid began to explore the option of establishing a local ship-breaking industry.

Beginning with a pilot project to dismantle a vessel in 2012, Sonasid was able instil international social and environmental standards in the local industry from the start. It also gave the company a chance to gauge the scale of the operation. Preparatory work on the ship-breaking unit began in 2013 with the goal of starting activity by 2015. Sonasid will work in conjunction with a global ship-breaking operator and use the salvaged scrap in its own operations.

Sonasid’s use of scrap as a raw material is expected to reduce carbon emissions by 0.8 tonnes for every tonne of steel produced. By limiting the distance the scrap needs to be transported, another 3,000 tonnes of CO2 will be saved each year.

The dismantling process will ensure the development of an environmentally positive solution for end-of-life ships. It will reduce the risk of environmentally hazardous substances such as oil escaping and polluting the coast and waterways. The project also has economic benefits for Morocco, and widespread social benefits to local communities.

Source: ArcelorMittal Sonasid