再制造案例分析

风力发电机焕发新生

风能是世界上增长速度最快的可再生能源之一。但是,对风力发电机的需求增长太过快速,目前的订单需要制造企业生产两年才能完成。相比之下,现有风力发电机通过再制造工艺,只需 4 个月就可以交付。并且,其成本只有新发电机的零头。再制造的发电机能够保证风电场全力运转,并且使用寿命远远超过设计寿命。事实上,再制造工艺能够将发电机寿命最高延长 20 年,几乎让原始投资的回报率翻了一番。

典型风力发电机的大约 80% 由钢铁组件构成。各个部件都能够经过再制造,达到甚至超过原始规格,其中包括变速箱、发电机、轴承和转子等。通常,这些部件在使用十年或二十年后需要修理。在再制造过程中,风力发电机的所有组件都要检查和测试。那些低于原始规格的部件被翻新或更换。再制造过程也可根据需要,改变发电机输出。例如,在发电机机舱里可以采用最新的变压器技术,应用电工钢的改进成果。此外,为了适应当地状况或增加能源产量,还可改变发电机绕组、齿轮大小甚至发电机驱动软件。

来源:世界钢铁协会

综合再循环项目为飞机部件带来二次生命

通常飞机在服务 20 至 25 年后退役。目前这相当于每年约有 800 架飞机退役。许多飞机都被放在沙漠中的场地存放,直到有了新的主人或二次生命。德国国家航空公司--汉莎航空公司开发了一种新的方法,该公司可以监督自己飞机的循环利用,然后服务现有机群。当飞机在沙漠中降落时,许多有价值的部件马上被从飞机上拆下。其中包括含有大量高价钢材的部件,包括起落架和发动机。例如,波音 747-400 机型共有四个发动机,这些发动机元件的价值约为 700 万欧元,占飞机可再利用部件价值的 80%。负责再循环工作的是汉莎公司的美国子公司--汉莎技术组件服务公司 (LTCS)。该公司将飞机上所有可再利用部件拆除,然后再对这些部件进行大修和测试。之后,这些组件再被送回德国,重新作为汉莎公司现役飞机的备用零件。

 “旧部件的质量和安全性与新部件相同--因为旧部件也必须符合相同的认证要求,并且通过相同的功能测试,”汉莎技术公司项目经理汉斯·博纳德·史密特解释道。尽管有些公司只对价值最高的备件感兴趣,但汉莎技术公司退役飞机的回收率却约为 92%。

来源:http://magazin.lufthansa.com/de/en/aviation-en/aircraft-recycling-new-life-in-the-desert/

再制造让工业机械有了新的生命

作为世界领先的建筑和矿业机械设备供应商,卡特皮勒公司在设计产品时,通常都把再制造考虑在内。可以再制造的组件往往包括发动机、传动系、液压系统以及推土机等的履带等。

客户将用过的组件交还 OEM 厂商后,作为回报,将收到一件再制造的产品。该产品的保修与原始产品相同,并且可以立即投入使用,从而尽量减少停机时间。通过将走到生命终点的组件恢复到几乎全新状态,不仅减少了废物,而且将生产新部件的原料需求减至最低。

来源:卡特皮勒、JBC 等

Remanufacture

Breathing new life into wind turbines

Wind power is one of the fastest-growing sources of renewable energy in the world. But demand for wind turbines is growing so rapidly that it can take up to two years for manufacturers to fulfil orders. By contrast, existing wind turbines can be remanufactured and delivered in as little as four months. And at a fraction of the cost of a new wind turbine. Remanufactured turbines can keep wind farms at peak capacity, long beyond their designed lifetime. In fact, remanufacturing can almost double the return on the original investment by extending turbine life by up to 20 years.

Around 80% of a typical wind turbine is made up of steel components.. Various parts can be remanufactured to meet or exceed the original specifications including gearboxes, generators, bearings, and rotors. Typically these parts need to be repaired after ten to twenty years of service. During the remanufacturing process, all components in the wind turbine are inspected and tested. Those parts which fall below the original specifications are refurbished or replaced. The remanufacturing process can also be tailored to change the turbine’s output. For example, the latest transformer technology can be implemented in a turbine nacelle to take advantage of improvements in electrical steels. It is also possible to change generator windings, gear size, and even the software driving the turbine to accommodate local conditions or increase energy production.

Source: worldsteel

Comprehensive recycling programme gives aircraft parts a second life

Aircraft are generally decommissioned after 20 to 25 years of service. Currently this amounts to around 800 planes a year. Many are flown to sites in the desert where they are stored until they get a new owner, or a second life. Germany’s national carrier Lufthansa has developed a new approach which sees their own aircraft recycled and reused to service their existing fleet. Many valuable parts are extracted from the plane as soon as it lands in the desert. These include parts which contain a lot of valuable steels including the landing gear and engines. For example, the four engines on a Boeing 747-400 contain elements which are worth around €7 million, accounting for 80% of the value of the aircrat’s reusable parts. The recycling work is carried out by Lufthansa’s US subsidiary Lufthansa Technik Component Services (LTCS). The company removes all of the reusable components from an aircraft before they are overhauled and tested. Later they sent back to Germany where they are reused as spare parts for Lufthansa aircraft which are still in service.

“The quality of the used parts is just as good, and they are just as safe, as new parts – because they have to meet the same certification requirements and pass the same functional tests,” explains Hans Bernd Schmidt, project manager at Lufthansa Technik. While some companies are only interested in keeping the most valuable spare parts, Lufthansa Technik recycles roughly 92% of a decommissioned airplane.

Source: lufthansa.com

Remanufacturing a way of life for industrial machinery

The world’s leading suppliers of machinery and equipment for construction and mining typically design their products with remanufacturing in mind. Frequently remanufactured components include engines, drive trains, hydraulics, and the tracks which move vehicles such as bulldozers.

Customers return a used component to the OEM and receive a remanufactured product in return. This product has the same guarantee as the original and is immediately available to minimise machine downtime. Returning end-of-life components to as-new condition reduces waste and minimises the need for raw materials to produce new parts.

Source: Caterpillar, JBC, other