重复使用案例分析

重复使用钢材帮助旧桥升级改造

在美国俄亥俄州马斯金格姆县,更换下来的大桥钢梁被重复使用,建造新的小跨度桥梁。面对预算的消减和基础设施的老化,马斯金格姆县工程局决定使用回收钢梁,替换当地绿谷路大桥的上部结构。

项目组首先拆除钢梁上的旧附件,然后将钢梁切割成需要的长度。再利用的钢梁被做成上部结构的实物模型,以便安装新的交叉架和加强杆。然后将整个结构拆散、清洁及上漆,最后运输到桥梁所在地。

该县估计,通过将回收钢梁用于新的桥梁上部结构,节约资金 5.1 万美元。绿谷路大桥是马斯金格姆县第五座通过再利用工艺获得新生的大桥。

来源:小跨度钢桥联盟 

重复使用钢材的实用性在建筑业得到证明 

为证明建筑业的再利用情况,塔塔钢铁公司与荷兰建筑用钢推广协会合作开发了一个项目。该项目位于阿姆斯特的丹史基浦机场,是福克公司在该机场新建的一处面积 3.1 万平方米的分销中心。双方大量采用新建筑办法,推动提高钢材的再利用率。

如果再利用水平达到 20% 至 40%,将可减少建筑用钢环境足迹的 18% 至 36%。当按照生命周期决定新建筑的选材时,这一要点明显强化了钢材的现有优势地位。

该项目的新建筑实践包括:

  • 建立“建筑材料护照”,其中包括建筑用钢的规格信息。
  • 为桁梁、支柱和包层设置可拆装的连接件。这种连接件消除了现场焊接需求,以及更改锚定螺栓和射钉连接 (shot connection) 的需要。
  • 剪切稳定性由横向钢质桁架而非地板提供。
  • 整个建筑的设计采用模块化(标准)钢梁和支柱维度、长度和大小。

来源:塔塔钢铁欧洲公司

通过副产品共享,减少排放并刺激当地就业

中国台湾中钢公司有一处钢厂,该钢厂位于高雄市的一处大型工业园内。工业园内有各种不同工厂,这些工厂都向该公司购买燃气和蒸汽。反过来,该公司也向其他工厂购买工业气体和废燃料。本项目属于地区能源整合计划(中钢公司自从 1992 年以来一直在推广该计划)。该项目不仅降低了每家参与企业的生产成本和温室气体排放,而且刺激了当地的经济发展和绿色竞争力。从社会角度看,该项目还为各家工厂创造了就业机会。此外,由于不需要锅炉和其他可能带来危险的设备,该项目还提高了工业园内工人的安全。蒸汽还被用来为中钢公司的集体雇员宿舍和当地的游泳池供热。

来源:中国台湾中钢公司

炼钢炉渣改善海洋环境

炉渣是炼钢工艺中最重要的副产品之一。当铁矿石和废钢在熔炉里熔化后,为清除铁矿石和废钢中的杂质,需要向熔炉内添加炉渣剂和助熔剂。

形成的炉渣可以防止钢水发生氧化,并且形成一个盖子,保持钢水温度。由于炉渣的密度低于钢水,因此炉渣漂浮在表面,可以方便地去除。

清除和冷却后的炉渣用途广泛,可用于生产波特兰水泥、建设公路以及制成绝缘体。世界钢铁协会的会员甚至创造出能够帮助恢复海洋环境的产品。

在日本,JFE 控股株式会社开发了 Marine Stone®,这是一种粉碎炉渣,可用于水体循环不畅的环境。在这些区域,底部氧气水平低,因此生成硫化氢。硫化氢不仅散发恶臭,而且能够危害以沉积物为食的鱼类和甲壳类。

粉碎的炉渣将海洋生命引进该区域,可以帮助抑制硫化氢的产生,还可以改良沉积物。

来源:JFE 控股株式会社

Reuse

Reused steel gives old bridges an upgrade

In Muskingum County, Ohio (United States), steel beams from bridges which have been replaced are being reused to create new short-span structures. Faced with budget cuts and aging infrastructure, the Muskingum County Engineers Office (MCEO) decided to use salvaged beams to replace the superstructure of the local Green Valley Road Bridge.

The MCEO team first removed the old attachments from the beams before cutting them to the required lengths. A mock-up of the superstructure was created with the reused steel beams so that new cross-frames and stiffeners could be fitted. The entire structure was then disassembled, cleaned, and painted before being transported to the bridge site.

The County estimates that they saved US$51,000 by reusing beams in the new superstructure. The Green Valley Road Bridge is the fifth in Muskingham County to be given a new lease of life through reuse.

Source: Short Span Steel Bridge Alliance 

Demonstrating the practicality of reuse in construction

Tata Steel and the Dutch steel promotion institute Bouwen met Staal (Building with Steel) have cooperated on a project at Amsterdam’s Schiphol Airport to demonstrate reuse in construction. The partners adopted a number of new building practices which should facilitate high reuse rates for the steel in Fokker’s new 31,000 square metre distribution centre at Schiphol airport.

A reuse level of between 20 and 40% would reduce the environmental footprint of the steel used in the building by 18 to 36%. This markedly improves the already strong position of steel when it comes to making life-cycle based decisions about material choices for new buildings.

New practices developed for this project include:

  • Development of a ‘Building Material Passport’ which contains the specifications of the steel used in the building.
  • Demountable connections for beams, columns, and cladding. These connections eliminate on-site welding, and the need for adapted anchor bolts and shot connections.
  • Shear stability is provided by horizontal steel trusses instead of flooring.
  • The entire building is designed with modular (standard) steel beam and column dimensions, lengths and sizes.

Source: Tata Steel Europe

Sharing by-products lowers emissions, stimulates local employment

China Steel Corporation (CSC) has a steel mill which is part of a larger industrial park in Kaohsiung City. The park houses a range of different factories which buy fuel gases and steam from CSC. In turn, CSC purchases industrial gases and waste fuel from them. The project is part of the District Energy Integration Plan which CSC has been promoting since 1992. As well as reducing the production costs and greenhouse gas emissions from every participating business, the Plan has stimulated local economic development and ‘green’ competitiveness. Socially the project has led to job creation at the different factories. It has also improved safety for the people who work in the industrial park as boilers and other potentially dangerous equipment are not required. Steam is also used to heat CSC’s Group Employee Dormitory and the local swimming pool.

Source: China Steel Corporation

Steelmaking slag stimulates marine environments

Slag is one of the most important by-products in the steelmaking process. As iron ore and recycled steel are melted in the furnace, slag agents and fluxes are added to remove impurities from the iron ore and scrap.

The slags which are formed protect the liquid metal from oxygen and maintain the temperature of the molten metal by forming a lid. As slags are less dense than liquid metal, they float and can be easily removed.

Once removed and cooled, slags have a wide variety of uses in industries ranging from Portland cement production, to road building, and insulation. worldsteel member companies have even created products which are helping to restore marine environments.

In Japan, JFE Steel has created Marine Stone® - a crushed form of slag which is used in environments with poor water circulation. In these areas, oxygen levels at the bottom are low and hydrogen sulphide is produced. As well as creating a foul odour, the hydrogen sulphide can harm fish and shellfish which feed on the sediment.

The crushed slag attracts sea life to the area which helps to suppress production of hydrogen sulphide and remediate the sediment.

Source: JFE