全生命周期思维

steel staircase, circular economy

为了理解某种产品环境绩效,须从全生命周期角度进行评估。钢铁产品生命周期评价主要对钢铁生产初期、钢铁生命终期直至回收过程中的资源、能耗、排放等主要指标进行分析。钢铁可无限次进行循环,且不破坏其属性。

生命周期思维是推动可持续各方面发展的关键

 

生命周期思维:可持续发展的关键因素

虽然生命周期评价通常用于评估环境的可持续发展,但 “全方面的生命周期方法”也可用于衡量产品生命周期对社会及经济产生的影响(利用生命周期成本评估),保持三者之间的平衡是生产可持续发展产品的关键。

值得注意的是,如果我们想要实现工业与社会真正可持续发展,社会及经济因素与环境因素同等重要。

生命周期清单

1996年,世界钢铁协会启动钢铁产品的全球创新性生命周期清单研究,这也是首次在全球范围内对特定材料开展的生命周期清单研究。

研究报告分别于2000年、2010年、2017年、2018年进行了更新,最新数据集于2019年12月发布。研究报告包含全球和各地区的16种钢铁产品的生命周期清单数据,从热轧卷材到钢筋、型材和涂层钢板。

这项研究是按照世界钢铁协会生命周期清单方法论报告和ISO标准14040和14044实施完成的,是全球最全面和最准确的关于钢铁产品的生命周期清单数据集。

最新发布的2019年生命周期清单研究报告对收集的数据和发布结果提供了更深入的分析。

世界钢铁协会的主要目标是为顾客和钢铁用户对钢铁进行环保认证提供支持,下游用户通过了解相关数据以便做出正确的选材决策。通过生成钢铁产品生命周期清单数据集,并提供给全球利益相关者,从而实现该目标。

想要更全面的了解这项研究,请点击这里进入我们的问答页面进行了解。

LIFE CYCLE THINKING

steel staircase, circular economy

To understand the environmental performance of a product, its entire life cycle needs to be taken into consideration. A life cycle assessment (LCA) of a steel product looks at resources, energy and emissions, from the steel production stage to its end-of-life stage, including recycling. 

The life cycle of steel

Life cycle thinking: key to every aspect of sustainability

Life cycle thinking is key to every aspect of sustainability. While LCA is typically applied to environmental sustainability, an ‘integrated life cycle approach’ can also be used to measure the social and economic impact (life cycle costing, LCC) of products. Keeping all three in balance is key if we are to make sustainable products.

It is important to note that social and economic factors are as critical as environmental factors if we are to create industries and societies which are truly sustainable.

About our Life Cycle Inventory Data

In 1996, worldsteel launched its innovative worldwide life cycle inventory (LCI) study for steel products. This was the first time that an international LCI study of a specific material had been carried out.

The study was updated in 2000, 2010, 2017, 2018 and we released our current LCI dataset in December 2019. This study contains global and regional LCI data for 16 steel products, from hot rolled coil to plate, rebar, sections and coated steels.

The study has been carried out in accordance with the worldsteel LCI methodology report  and ISO standards 14040 and 14044 and is the most comprehensive and accurate LCI dataset for steel products produced in the world. 

The study report for the 2019 data release provides a more detailed insight into the data collected and the results published.

A key goal of worldsteel is to provide support on the environmental credentials of steel to customers and users of steel, with the intention that those that specify and use materials in applications have access to relevant data to facilitate their own informed decision-making. This is achieved by generating this LCI database for steel products and making it available to stakeholders all around the world.

For a much more comprehensive understanding of the approach, check out our Q&A via this link.