生命周期清单政策声明

生命周期评价是为考察产品(包括其制造材料)的生产、使用、处置和回收过程中相应的环境问题,而被越来越广泛采用的一种评价工具。一般认为,生命周期评价由四个阶段组成:建立评价目标和评价范围;制作投入的材料和能源清单,以及产品生命周期各阶段产出的排放物清单;评价环境影响;确认改进措施。

作为一门科学,生命周期评价技术仍处于相对早期的发展阶段。评价结果往往易受具体假设内容的影响。不同社会,环保重点和环保问题也会不同,因此,这种分析方法具有地点和时间的特定性。此外,还存在将复杂问题进行简单化分析和不完全分析的风险。

通过与客户密切合作,可利用生命周期评价确定工艺操作和产品设计及开发过程中的改进重点。鉴于生命周期评价技术的当前状态,以及评价结果对主观假设的敏感性,在利用生命周期评价比较替代材料的环境影响时,需要极其慎重。

钢铁行业致力于执行可持续发展理念。这一点可从世界钢铁协会的《可持续发展政策》得到证明。该政策提出,根据最高环保标准要求,可持续发展原则应被纳入钢铁行业管理的所有方面。因此,在广大的可持续发展范畴内,将生命周期评价研究正确定位是关键。

为避免生命周期评价的价值被削弱,钢铁行业在使用生命周期评价时,在研究课题的选择以及研究数据和研究结果的公布和解释上,都非常谨慎。目前已制定出一套实际操作指导原则。对于那些为上述目的实施或利用生命周期评价的所有单位,世界钢铁协会理事会推荐使用这套指导原则。

  • 在实施生命周期评价研究过程中,以及在向内外部受众披露研究的过程中,保持执行最高标准。
  • 努力在更广大的可持续发展范畴内定位生命周期评价(参见世界钢铁协会《可持续发展政策》),为此,还必须适当考虑其对人类健康和 安全、福祉、生物多样性、个体生态系统的影响,产品寿命及其可回收性,以及自然资源利用的可持续性。
  • 支持开发统一的、严格的、透明的生命周期评价方法,使人们能够基于对产品和工艺的环境影响的充分认识来做出选择。
  • 支持收集和传播材料使用数据和重复利用数据,以及材料生产过程的环境影响数据。
  • 公布数据时格式明晰,用户能够明确辨认关键性假设,以及分析结果对关键假设的敏感性。
  • 避免有选择性地披露分析结果,以及脱离数据的原始范畴使用相关数据。
  • 避免混淆基于当前实践的产品比较结果和基于将来某一时点最佳绩效的产品比较结果。
  • 如果材料之间的差异可能属于关键性假设的误差范围,则应避免提出哪种材料环境影响占优的主张。
  • 支持生命周期评价标准的开发,包括国际标准化组织的工作。

LCI policy statement

Life cycle assessment (LCA) is one of the tools increasingly being used to consider the environmental issues associated with the production, use, disposal, and recycling of products, including the materials from which they are made. An LCA is generally recognised to consist of four phases: the establishment of the goals and scope of the assessment; the drawing up of an inventory of the input materials and energy, and the output emissions for each stage of the product life cycle; an assessment of the impact on the environment; and the identification of actions for improvement.

The techniques of life cycle assessment are continually being assessed and developed. The results are often sensitive to the exact assumptions made. Environmental priorities and issues change in different societies, and therefore the analysis is specific in both location and time. There is a danger in reducing complex issues to simplistic and partial analysis.

LCA can be used to identify priorities for improvements in process operations and product design and development, working closely with customers. The present state of the art and the sensitivity of results to subjective assumptions demand extreme caution when using LCA to compare the impact of alternative materials on the environment.

The steel industry is committed to the concept of sustainable development. This is illustrated by the worldsteel Sustainable Development Policy, which states that the highest standards of environmental care require that the principle of sustainable development is incorporated into all aspects of the management of our industry. It is therefore essential that LCA studies should be correctly placed in the broader context of sustainable development.

To avoid the value of LCA being undermined, the steel industry has been very careful in its use – both in the undertaking of studies and in the publication and interpretation of data and results. A set of practical guidelines has been drawn up and the worldsteel Board of Directors recommends it to all those undertaking or using LCA for the purposes outlined above.

  • Maintain the highest standards in both the undertaking of LCA studies and their disclosure to both internal and external audiences.
  • Seek to place LCA within its broader context of sustainable development (see worldsteel Sustainable Development Policy), recognising that this requires that due weight must also be given to the impact on human health and safety, welfare, bio-diversity, the impact on individual eco-systems, the length of a product’s life and its recyclability, and the sustainable use of natural resources.
  • Support efforts to develop a consistent, rigorous and transparent methodology for LCA to enable society to make informed choices on the environmental impact of products and processes.
  • Support the collection and dissemination of data on the use and reuse of materials, and the environmental effects resulting from their production.
  • Publish data clearly in a form that allows the user to clearly identify the key assumptions made and the sensitivity to those assumptions.
  • Avoid the selective disclosure of results or the use of data out of its original context.
  • Avoid the mixing of product comparisons based on actual current practice with those based on optimal performance at some future date.
  • Avoid claims of superior impact on the environment where the differences between materials are likely to be within the margin of error of the key assumptions.
  • Support the development of standards for LCA, including the work of the International Organization for Standardization (ISO).