安全与职业健康

Safety and health in the steel industry is a top priority

确保钢铁业从业人员的安全和健康是我们行业工作的重中之重

为所有的员工创造一个安全与健康的工作环境是每个会员企业的首要职责。我们制定的政策是帮助所有会员公司实现创造一个零事故的工作场所。

以往钢铁生产被视为一道危险的工序,事故难免发生。当下很多钢铁企业认识到在现代化和技术发达的背景下,需要打破旧观念,钢铁生产不再危险。

任何领域、工序和工种都可实现零事故。安全与健康方面的改善需要每个人全力以赴。最重要的是,需要最高领导层的承诺。领导层创建安全生产文化,让公司所有人意识到安全与健康是首要职责,不能因任何目标为由而妥协。

很多钢铁企业致力于改善安全与健康绩效,并且旗下很多业务在没有损失工时和造成人员伤害下开展。他们认识到如此的业绩需要公司上下齐心协力配合,从而实现安全与健康的卓越绩效表现,进而带动公司业务的卓越绩效。最成功的钢铁企业,其工作环境也是最安全的。

世界钢铁协会会员公司致力于消除事故和危害,近几年行业取得卓越的成效。从会员从公司收集的安全数据表明,过去十年来钢铁行业的误工工伤率保持稳步、显著的下降,从2006年的4.6下降到2016年的1.0,降幅高达78%。

2006年,理事会签署一份守则明确了行业关于安全与健康应当遵循的原则。

钢铁业六项安全与健康守则:

  1. 一切工伤与职业病是能预防与避免的
  2. 领导必须承担安全健康绩效的责任
  3. 员工的参与和培训是必要的
  4. 安全的工作是雇佣条件之一
  5. 卓越的安全和健康绩效支持卓越的经营业绩
  6. 安全和健康应纳入所有业务管理流程

以上安全管理工作原则更多详细介绍请查看我们编制的指导手册(点击本页面右侧“安全与职业健康管理工作的原则和相关定义指导手册”链接)

安全和职业健康的综合管理,需要考虑以下三个领域:

  • 职业安全管理

职业安全管理通过防止雇员、协议工以及访客在工作场所内受伤,提高人员的安全性,关注的重点是从源头防止人员暴露于危险。

  • 职业健康管理

从最广泛意义上讲,职业健康管理包含企业员工的身体、精神和社会福祉,关注的是人员长期暴露于危险所带来的影响。员工的健康涉及多种决定性因素,包括工作场所存在的各种风险因素,这些因素可能导致癌症、肌骨病、呼吸系统疾病、听力损失、循环系统疾病、生理失调压力等。

  • 工艺安全管理

工艺安全管理涉及到各种工程和预防灾难性意外、未遂事故的管理,如爆炸、火灾、结构坍塌及由于能源或危险物质(例如,铁水、燃料和化学物质)的抑制措施失效,而导致的破坏性泄漏。

钢铁制造过程中有些工艺拥有内在危险性,其危险控制措施极其复杂,须重点管理。工艺安全管理的重点不仅要保证企业内部的人员安全,而且也保护了周围环境、企业资产以及周围企业的安全。

Four areas need to be considered to manage safety and health comprehensively:

four focus areas safety

 

  1. Safety Culture and Leadership
    The development and maintenance of a sound safety culture is an essential enabler of world-class safety performance. A sound healthy and robust culture itself is dependent on active, inspiring and effective safety leadership across an organisation. Safety leaders can be found across the steel industry, from frontline workers influencing their peers to the CEO, who has a unique and powerful opportunity to be a positive influence across the whole business. Safety leaders have the opportunity to foster and establish sustainable cultural change that positively impacts the behaviour, attitudes and overall safety and health of all employees and contractors with their sphere of influence. This is a long-term commitment that will require the continual investment of resources and effort.
  2. Occupational Safety Management
    Occupational safety management promotes the safety of employees, contractors and visitors by preventing personal injuries in the workplace, and has a strong focus on primary prevention of exposure to hazards.
  3. Occupational Health Management
    In its widest definition, occupational health management encompasses the physical, mental and social well-being of the people working in the company. The focus is placed on long-term effects on exposure to hazards. The health of workers has several determinants, including risk factors at the workplace leading to cancers, musculoskeletal diseases, respiratory diseases, hearing loss, circulatory diseases, stress related disorders and others.
  4. Process Safety Management
    Process safety is a blend of engineering and management skills focused on preventing catastrophic accidents and near misses, particularly explosions, fires, structural collapse and damaging releases associated with a loss of containment of energy or dangerous substances such as molten metals, fuels and chemicals. The manufacturing of steel involves processes with intrinsic hazards that need careful management. The measures needed to control these hazards are often complex. The focus of process safety management is not limited to protecting the people within the company but also includes the environment, assets and surrounding community.

实现工作场所零事故目标

为达到工作场所零事故这一目标,世界钢铁协会开展一系列活动:

  • 安全与职业健康绩效指标调查

衡量绩效指标是达到良好的安全健康标准的一个方面。世界钢铁协会鼓励所有会员公司参与安全绩效数据收集工作,并且尽可能提交准确的信息。

  • 安全与职业健康指南

世界钢铁协会会员外网提供一些安全与职业健康最佳实践例子及专项安全管理方面的指南。

  • 安全与职业健康卓越成就奖

每年世界钢铁协会安全与职业健康委员会对积极工作和改善钢铁行业安全与职业健康的会员公司进行表彰。2008年以来,有超过30项最佳实践得以表彰。

  • 安全工作研讨会

安全工作研讨会有助于会员公司的安全专家面对面进行讨论和交流最佳实现。世界钢铁协会在世界各地举办专项安全工作研讨会。

  • 严重安全事故信息共享

当发生事故时,分析事故原因以及采取预防措施的过程中,将会获得海量知识。世界钢铁协会鼓励会员公司之间进行严重安全事故信息共享。

  • 车间安全审查

应请求,世界钢铁协会可安排执行钢厂车间安全审查或安全监察活动。无论会员还是非会员公司,都可自行制定安全监察与排查计划。

  • 钢铁行业安全生产日

钢铁行业安全生产日与国际劳工组织的生产安全与健康日同期举行。安全生产日在每年4月28日举行,在活动日到来之前,世界钢铁协会要求全体会员单位执行特别安全排查工作,排查范围是造成本行业严重安全事故的五大常见原因。

世界钢铁安全与职业健康管理工作原则是我们开展各项工作的基础(详见本页面右侧的期刊链接)。

SAFETY AND HEALTH

Safety and health in the steel industry is a top priority

Nothing is more important than the safety and health of the people who work in the steel industry.

A safe and healthy working environment for all employees is the number one priority for every worldsteel member. Our policy is to help all our members reach our goal of an accident-free workplace.

Historically, steelmaking was a dangerous process and accidents were inevitable. Today, many steel companies recognise that this is no longer appropriate for a modern and technically advanced industry.

There is no area, process or type of work that cannot be accident-free. Safety and health requires a permanent 100% commitment from everyone. Most importantly, it requires a strong commitment from top management and all levels of managements, which should set the culture in which safety and health is the number one priority and must not be compromised for any other objective.

Steel companies are improving their safety and health performance and some businesses have gone without any lost time injuries or fatalities for many years. These companies know that such performance requires excellence in all aspects of their operations. This excellence also produces superior business performance - the most successful steel companies are also the safest.

worldsteel member companies committed to eliminating accidents and injuries from the industry and significant improvements have been achieved over recent years. Safety data collected from our membership has seen a steady and notable reduction in the Lost Time Injury Frequency Rate (LTIFR) over the past decade, decreasing from 4.6 in 2006 to 1.0 in 2016, a reduction of 78%. 

In 2006, the Board of Directors issued a set of principles that clearly outline the industry philosophy on safety and health.

Six safety and health principles for the industry:

  1. All injuries and work-related illness can and must be prevented.
  2. Management is responsible and accountable for safety and health performance.
  3. Employee engagement and training is essential.
  4. Working safely is a condition of employment.
  5. Excellence in safety and health supports excellent business results.
  6. Safety and health must be integrated in all business-management processes.

More details on these principles are available in our Guidance booklet (see to the right of this page, Safety and Health Principles and Definitions).

Three areas need to be considered to manage safety and health comprehensively:

  • Occupational Safety Management
    Occupational safety management promotes the safety of employees, contractors and visitors by preventing personal injuries in the workplace, and has a strong focus on primary prevention of exposure to hazards.
  • Occupational Health Management
    In its widest definition, occupational health management encompasses the physical, mental and social well-being of the people working in the company. The focus is placed on long-term effects on exposure to hazards. The health of workers has several determinants, including risk factors at the workplace leading to cancers, musculoskeletal diseases, respiratory diseases, hearing loss, circulatory diseases, stress related disorders and others.
  • Process Safety Management
    Process safety is a blend of engineering and management skills focused on preventing catastrophic accidents and near misses, particularly explosions, fires, structural collapse and damaging releases associated with a loss of containment of energy or dangerous substances such as molten metals, fuels and chemicals. The manufacturing of steel involves processes with intrinsic hazards that need careful management. The measures needed to control these hazards are often complex. The focus of process safety management is not limited to protecting the people within the company but also includes the environment, assets and surrounding community.

Achieving an accident-free workplace

worldsteel's goal is to help its members achieve an accident-free workplace through a series of activities:

  • Safety and health metrics survey
    Measuring performance is one aspect of achieving good safety and health standards. worldsteel encourages all of its member companies to participate in the safety performance data collection and report as accurate information as possible. 
  • Safety and health guidance notes
    There are a number of safety and health best practice examples and guidance notes on specific topics available from worldsteel extranet.
  • Safety and health excellence recognition programme
    worldsteel's Safety and Health Committee recognises each year member companies that are actively working to improve safety and health within the steel industry. Since 2008, more than 30 examples of best practice have been recognised.
  • Safety workshops
    The safety workshops allow people to meet face to face to discuss and exchange best practices. worldsteel provides specific safety workshops around the world.
  • Serious safety occurrences sharing
    If an incident occurs, there is an enormous amount of knowledge to be gained from reviewing the causes and actions taken to prevent a re-occurrence. worldsteel promotes the sharing of safety serious occurrences between its members.
  • Shop floor safety audits
    worldsteel performs shop floor safety audits or safety observation activities upon request. This allows members and non-members alike to develop their own observation and audit programmes.
  • Steel Safety Day
    Steel Safety Day is aligned with the International Labour Organisation's (ILO) World Day for Safety and Health at Work. Ahead of the day, scheduled every year on 28 April, worldsteel asks all its members to carry out a special safety audit on the five most common causes of serious safety incidents.

The foundation of our activities are the worldsteel safety and heath principles (see publication on the right of this page).